Happy Mardi Gras

Do you know what it means to ride 60 miles on difficult roads and finally arrive (after crossing rt 95 ) in Yemassee , SC, only find out that the town is dry on Sundays? Emergency texts to our Southern friends Riley and Elden were of little avail. I even tried claiming that I was Jewish and that I hadn’t had a drink the day before. Didn’t work. They lock the cooler doors at the convenience stores.

Do you know what it means to miss New Orleans?

This entry was posted in Biking, Blue Laws, South Carolina, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Mardi Gras

  1. Pam Vance says:

    Now you are really in the south! You could not buy alcohol here in Georgia on Sundays until just a few years ago. The first Sunday it was allowed I ran out to Costco to buy a half-dozen bottles of wine just because I could.

  2. Jim says:

    The Blue Law strikes again.

  3. Kathy McGroddy-Goetz says:

    I remember Sunday road trips to NH the summer I lived in Boston, those laws only got changed here in CT a couple of years ago (and there have still been a couple of occasions where I forgot to get down to the store before 5pm closing, eeek!) – glad to now have some new friends who work for Diageo and get lots of “take home” samples for emergency situations like yours!

    Loving the blog, hoping one day we can do something like this (one more kid to go!!)

    • shelaghvt says:

      Vermont still has a version of Blue Laws, in that the state liquor stores are closed on Sundays. But you can buy wine and beer at the grocery store. Kathy, I’d highly recommend doing something like this! It’s a lot of fun…

Leave a comment